Large group of people protesting

Untie Aid

A successful four year campaign encouraging countries to source local products to make goods and services purchased for development initiatives more appropriate, efficient, and cost-effective.

Tied aid requires that the recipients of Canada’s foreign aid—some of the world’s poorest countries—purchase exclusively Canadian goods and services with the available funding. Under this system, aid money is wasted because of the inherent advantage to Canadian companies: competitive bids for cost-effective development projects are not viable.

In September 2008, after four years of campaigning by EWB Canada, the Canadian government announced that it would completely untie all of Canada’s aid by 2012.


Engineers Without Borders has worked on dozens of donor projects across Africa. At least three out of four have suffered setbacks in their projects because their aid was tied.

Tied aid mandates developing nations to buy products only from donor countries as a condition for development assistance.

Essentially, we give with one hand, and take with the other. Here is a dollar, we say, but you have to spend it on our wheat, our consultants, our textbooks. You might be able to buy these in your own country, but if our aid is tied, they’ll have to be shipped half way around the world to get to you. In fact, the OECD calculates that aid can be made 15-30% more effective by untying it.


The Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) estimates that tied aid raises the cost of goods and services by up to 30 per cent. Untying Canada’s aid not only added $90-180 million to our annual aid budget but also helped make goods and services purchased for development initiatives more appropriate, efficient, and cost-effective by encouraging countries to source local products.

For an example of what tied aid looks like in Malawi, read: http://www.ewb.ca/en/articles/posteditorial_081016.html


Untying aid is one of the “no-brainers” that compassionate countries can do. Rather than leading in this area, Canada was at the back of the pack.

According to the latest statistics, 40% of our bilateral aid was tied to buying goods and services from Canada. That’s $800-million that was being spent ineffectively.

The Government of Canada announced that it would untie all of our bilateral aid by 2012. With a roughly 25% increase in effectiveness of $800 million, that’s the equivalent of $200 million extra in aid every year – with nothing more than the stroke of a pen.


In early 2004, EWB received an award from the Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters, and was invited to their recognition ceremony. Upon accepting the award, co-CEO Parker Mitchell issued a challenge to the companies in attendance: start looking for a new way to be competitive, because EWB is going to bring tied aid to an end!

EWB members worked on multiple levels to achieve this change.

MP Engagement:

In 2005-2006, Members of Parliament received over 8500 personally signed postcards from their constituents asking them to untie aid. From 2005 onwards, chapters had (often multiple) meetings with over 30 MPs.

Public Engagement:

In addition to the postcard campaign, in January 2007 EWB members attending the National Conference took to the streets of Montreal with 3000 mini stop signs reading “Stop Tied Aid”. They talked to thousands of Montrealers about tied aid, and sent the 3000 signed stop signs to Members of Parliament.

Decision-Maker Engagement:

From 2005-2007, EWB put the pressure on in meetings with Canadian decision-makers, talking to Paul Martin (then Prime Minister), Robert Greenhill (then president of CIDA), the Finance Minister, the Minister of International Cooperation, Governor General Michaëlle Jean, and other senior people from the Privy Council Office, the Prime Minister’s Office, and CIDA.

In every case, decision-makers were confronted with the question, “Why hasn’t Canada untied its aid?” along with sophisticated arguments against the existing policy.

Donate Now

Help us build a better world

Donate Now

Délions l’aide publique au développement

L’aide liée exige des bénéficiaires de l’aide étrangère du Canada – certains des pays les plus pauvres au monde – qu’ils achètent uniquement des biens et services canadiens avec le financement alloué. Un tel système mène au gaspillage de l’argent de l’aide dû à l’avantage intrinsèque qu’ont les compagnies canadiennes : les offres compétitives pour le développement de projets économiques ne sont pas viables.

En septembre 2008, après quatre ans de campagne menés par ISF Canada, le gouvernement canadien a annoncé qu’il délierait entièrement toute l’aide du Canada d’ici 2012.


Qu’est-ce que l’aide liée ?

Ingénieurs sans frontières a travaillé sur plusieurs douzaines de projets de donateurs à travers l’Afrique. Au moins trois projets sur quatre ont subi des revers parce que leur aide était liée.

L’aide liée exige que les nations en développement achètent des produits provenant seulement de pays donateurs comme condition d’aide au développement.

Essentiellement, nous donnons d’une main et reprenons de l’autre. Nous disons : « Voici un dollar, mais vous devez le dépenser sur notre blé, nos consultants, nos manuels. » Vous pouvez peut-être acheter ces items dans votre pays, mais notre aide est liée et ils devront être expédiés de l’autre côté de la planète pour que vous les receviez. En fait, l’OCDE a calculé que l’aide pourrait être de 15 à 30 % plus efficace si elle était déliée.


Pourquoi est-ce important ?

L’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) estime que l’aide liée augmente jusqu’à 30 % le coût des biens et services. Le déliement de l’aide du Canada ne nous a pas seulement permis d’ajouter 90-180 millions $ à notre budget d’aide annuel, mais nous a aussi permis de rendre l’achat de biens et services pour les initiatives de développement plus adéquat, efficace et économique en encourageant les pays à acheter localement.

Pour voir un exemple de l’aide liée au Malawi, consultez : http://www.ewb.ca/en/articles/posteditorial_081016.html


Quelle est l’importance du déliement de l’aide du Canada ?

Le déliement de l’aide est l’une des décisions les plus sensées qui peuvent être prises par les pays compatissants. Plutôt que de montrer le bon exemple, le Canada était à la queue du peloton dans le domaine.

Selon les toutes dernières statistiques, 40 % de notre aide bilatérale était liée et exigeait l’achat de biens et services canadiens. Cela équivaut à 800 millions $ dépensés inefficacement.

Le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé qu’il délierait l’entièreté de notre aide bilatérale d’ici 2012. Avec environ 25 % d’augmentation en efficacité de 800 millions $, c’est l’équivalent de 200 millions $ en plus d’aide chaque année – grâce à un simple coup de crayon.


Quel a été le rôle d’ISF dans le déliement de l’aide ?

Au début de 2004, ISF a reçu un prix de Manufacturiers et exportateurs du Canada et a été invité à leur cérémonie de reconnaissance. Lors de la réception du prix, le co-PDG Parker Mitchell a lancé un défi aux compagnies présentes : « Commencez à penser à une nouvelle façon d’être compétitifs, parce qu’ISF s’apprête à mettre fin à l’aide liée ! »

Les membres d’ISF ont travaillé à différents niveaux pour réaliser ce changement.

L’engagement des députés fédéraux et députées fédérales :

En 2005-2006, les députés fédéraux et députées fédérales ont reçu plus de 8500 cartes postales personnellement signées par leurs électeurs et électrices leur demandant de délier l’aide. Depuis 2005 et jusqu’à ce jour, les sections ont participé à des réunions (parfois plusieurs) avec plus de 30 députés fédéraux et députées fédérales à ce sujet.

L’engagement public :

En plus de la campagne à l’aide de cartes postales, en janvier 2007, les membres d’ISF présents au congrès national sont descendus dans les rues de Montréal avec 3000 panneaux d’arrêt miniatures sur lesquels était écrit « Arrêtons l’aide liée ». Ils ont discuté avec des milliers de Montréalais et Montréalaises au sujet de l’aide liée et ont envoyé les 3000 panneaux d’arrêt aux députés et députées.

L’engagement des décideurs et décideuses :

Depuis 2005-2007, ISF fait pression pour rencontrer les décideurs canadiens et les décideuses canadiennes, en discutant avec Paul Martin (alors Premier ministre), Robert Greenhill (alors président de l’ACDI), le ministre des Finances, le ministre de la Coopération internationale, la gouverneure générale Michaëlle Jean et d’autres membres du personnel supérieur du Bureau du Conseil privé, du Cabinet du Premier ministre et de l’ACDI.

À chaque nouvelle rencontre, les décideurs et décideuses étaient confrontés à cette question : « Pourquoi le Canada n’a pas délié son aide ? », ainsi qu’à des arguments sophistiqués contre la politique existante.

Donate Now

Help us build a better world

Donate Now