People with cell phones

Numida Technologies

Numida Technologies provides entrepreneurs with powerful data profiles, improved lending terms, and critical financing to ignite business growth.

Uganda’s estimated 450,000 Micro Small and Medium Enterprises generate around 90% of the country’s private sector production. They also generate four out of five new jobs and make significant contributions to national economic prosperity.

However, 74% of these critical businesses identify access to—and the high cost of—finance as a significant hindrance to their growth. Small businesses use the Numida mobile app to keep track of their financial records, and Numida uses the cash flow and behavioral data collected in the app to then issue appropriately sized, unsecured loans.


Without financing, many of Uganda’s small and medium sized enterprises operate far below their potential.

A major reason for this issue is poor record keeping from small-to-medium sized entrepreneurs and a lack of collateral that financial institutions require in order to issue business credit.

A major reason for this issue is poor record keeping from small-to-medium sized entrepreneurs and a lack of collateral that financial institutions require in order to issue business credit.

Finance organizations pass the cost associated with their increased efforts on to small business borrowers, in the form of high interest rates and application fees. At the same time, the organizations offset their own perceived risk by commanding high collateral requests.

With the essential small business community hindered by inaccessible financing, Uganda is missing valuable opportunities to create employment, stimulate the economy, and to ultimately increase standard-of-living for the entrepreneurs, their families, staff and wider communities.

Numida solves these problems by integrating improved financial management with access to unsecured credit.


Through convertible note equity, we were able to provide essential early-round financial support with speed, simplicity and at low cost. This ensured Numida could engage in essential product research and development to accelerate the potential impacts of the product.

Initial investment was bolstered throughout the founding-stage through the support of EWB fellows: with three Long-Term Fellows and one Junior Fellow embedded to provide talent in financial modelling, investor preparation, networking and strategy.

With these support frameworks in place, Numida secured a grant to execute a pilot  with over 1000 entrepreneurs in 2016.

 


Numida leverages mobile technology to improve the financial management and financial literacy of Ugandan small business owners through their simple record-keeping app. As entrepreneurs use the app to keep track of their finances they unlock access to unsecured credit directly in the app. Numida users can access credit after only 7 days of app use, however the longer and more consistently they use Numida, the higher loan principals and better terms they are offered. This gamification motivates good financial management behaviour and combined with loans appropriately designed according to the businesses actual cash flows Numida can greatly reduce their risk and cost of lending. Loans are disbursed within 24 hours via mobile money offering a level of convenience unheard of in the SME lending sector.


Raised nearly 15 times initial EWB funding.

As of August 8, 2017

  • Disbursed 190 loans to 135 Ugandan small businesses
  • 99% repayment rate
  • Growing at 15% week on week
  • Won Seedstars Uganda pitch competition, and invited to pitch for $1M in Switzerland
  • One of 500 ventures from 14,000 applicants globally selected to interview for Y-Combinator, the world’s leading tech accelerator
  • Selected to participate in Blackbox Connect, a San Francisco tech accelerator sponsored by Google for Entrepreneurs

Selected for the 2016 Unreasonable Institute East Africa.

The Unreasonable Institute is an annual five-week workshop program connecting innovative businesses with mentors and potential funding opportunities. Carefully selected, high-potential companies are equipped with a platform for mentorship and networking to continue their impressive development trajectories.

Donate Now

Help us build a better world

Donate Now

People with cell phones

Technologies Numida

Numida Technologies provides entrepreneurs with powerful data profiles, improved lending terms, and critical financing to ignite business growth.

Les 450 000 petites et moyennes entreprises d’Ouganda génèrent environ 90 % de la production du secteur privé du pays. Leur apport est considérable dans la création d’emplois et dans la richesse économique nationale grandissante.

Toutefois, 74 % de ces entreprises cruciales indiquent que l’accès au financement et son coût élevé constituent un obstacle majeur à leur croissance. Les petites entreprises utilisent l’application mobile de Numida pour faire le suivi de leurs états financiers et Numida utilise les données comportementales et celles liées aux flux de trésorerie pour offrir, par la suite, des prêts sans garantie de taille appropriée.


À défaut d’un financement, de nombreuses petites et moyennes entreprises d’Ouganda fonctionnent en deçà de leur capacité.

La raison principale de cet enjeu demeure la tenue des registres déficiente de la part des petites et moyennes entreprises ainsi que le manque de garantie, qui est exigé par les institutions financières afin qu’elles accordent un prêt d’affaires.

Les institutions financières relèguent les coûts afférents à leurs efforts continus aux petites entreprises qui empruntent, et ce, sous forme de taux d’intérêts élevés et de frais d’étude de dossier. Les organisations en profitent ainsi pour compenser les risques encourus en exigeant des garanties élevées.

Tandis que l’essentielle communauté des petites entreprises est gênée par un financement inaccessible, l’Ouganda perd d’excellentes occasions de créer des emplois, de stimuler l’économie et finalement de favoriser la croissance du niveau de vie des entrepreneurs, de leurs familles, de leur personnel et de la population.

Numida résolve ces problèmes en intégrant une gestion financière améliorée à l’accès à des prêts sans garantie.


Par l’entremise de fonds propres convertibles, nous avons pu fournir rapidement une assistance financière initiale indispensable sans trop de difficulté et à un coût peu élevé. Cela a assuré que Technologies Numida puisse lancer la recherche et le développement indispensables au produit en vue d’accélérer les impacts potentiels de ce dernier.

L’investissement initial a été renforcé au cours du processus de financement grâce au support des gens d’ISF: une équipe de 3 personnes sur une base permanente et une ressource moins expérimentée dédiée à fournir une expertise dans les modèles de financement, la formation des investisseurs, le réseautage et la stratégie.

Grâce à ces encadrements structurels, Numida a obtenu une bourse pour mettre en place un projet pilote avec plus de 1000 entrepreneurs en 2016.


Numida met à profit la technologie mobile afin d’améliorer la gestion et l’alphabétisation financières des propriétaires de petites entreprises ougandais-e-s grâce à leur simple application de suivi des états financiers. En utilisant cette application pour faire le suivi de leurs finances, les entrepreneur-e-s libèrent leur accès à un prêt sans garantie directement dans l’application. Les utilisateurs de Numida peuvent avoir accès au crédit après seulement 7 jours d’utilisation de l’application, mais le plus longtemps ils et elles utiliseront Numida de façon constante, plus gros sont les prêts et meilleurs sont les termes qui leur sont offerts. Cette ludification encourage un bon comportement de gestion financière et, en combinant cela à des prêts conçus de façon appropriée et en fonction des flux de trésorerie véritables des entreprises, Numida réduit de beaucoup les risques et les coûts de ses prêts. Les prêts sont déboursés en l’espace de 24 heures en argent mobile, offrant un niveau de commodité jamais égalé dans le secteur des prêts aux PME.


L’investissement initial d’ISF a généré approximativement 15 fois plus.

En date du 8 août 2017 :

  • A offert 190 prêts à 135 petites entreprises ougandaises
  • A un taux de remboursement de 99 %
  • Croît de 15 % de façon hebdomadaire
  • A remporté la compétition ougandaise de présentation de projet Seedstars et a été invitée à proposer sa candidature pour 1 M$ en Suisse
  • L’une des 500 initiatives sélectionnées parmi 14 000 ayant postulé à travers le monde pour participer à une entrevue avec le Y-Combinator, le chef de file mondial des incubateurs techno
  • A été sélectionnée pour participer à Blackbox Connect, un incubateur techno de San Francisco commandité par Google pour les entrepreneurs.

A été choisi pour le Unreasonable Institute de l’Afrique de l’Est en 2016.

Programme d’atelier annuel de 5 semaines, Unreasonable Institute allie des entreprises innovatrices avec des mentors et des personnes présentant d’éventuelles opportunités de financement. Sélectionnées soigneusement, les compagnies à haut potentiel sont munies d’une plateforme pour le mentorat et le réseautage pour continuer leur impressionnante ascension vers la croissance.

 

Donate Now

Help us build a better world

Donate Now